Midnight Driver Song Poster

Info:
Midnight Driver by Minako Yoshida
18”x24”
InDesign // Illustrator (with some help from Photoshop for the galaxy shots)

While working on my poster for this year’s Always Summer Poster Show + Mixtape event (hosted by AIGA Jacksonville), I had two different approaches I wanted to explore.

The first approach I wanted to limit myself to a black and white scheme that had a strong concept. In this version, I used moon phases and the night sky (actual screenshots from theskylive.com/planetarium of the exact date and time of the event over Jacksonville). I also wanted to emphasize the use of line as an infinite extension, a reflection of the endless road for the Midnight Driver. In this experience the darkness of night gives the perception that the earth and galaxy are a reflection of each other, an infinite, linear drive into the midnight sky.

Other little cool things: the paper texture is Hosho printmaking paper, to keep with the Japanese theme, and to give it a little oomph.

I used the typeface Kyrial for both posters. I thought this was a strong choice because it’s very sturdy, yet the friendly spurs (the little curves on the ends of the d and t) give the effect of continuation. Both things help reinforce the overall concept-driven posters, and help to give the song an approachable voice.

The second poster I went a little crazy. I wanted to push myself on the constellation/planet centric concept as well as think about using a literal road rather than implied roads by use of line (as in the first poster). I also wanted to explore a color palette that could connect to a summer sunset while looking rather space-y. This concept also suggests the infinite road, each planet representing you as the driver existing at each passing point, always moving along the road into the future, yet still existing in eternal time always at once where you had been, where you are now, and where you are going. Yes, pretty hippie explanation.

Cool things: The background is a photoshopped screenshot from the online planetarium I mentioned earlier. I took out the larger stars since they were visually distracting.

The final I submitted for print is the very last one in the above sequence. All submissions will be available for view at the event on September 23.

Last but not least, if you want to hear this funky number, check it out on soundcloud.

Author: Miniature Ray

designer

Leave a comment