Sign Types

I’ve been reading through Graphic Design The New Basics by Lupton and Phillips, and really liked an example they gave in the Hierarchy chapter.

One of my curriculum points is to become better acquainted with different typefaces, and learn the best applications for each. The example given in the book is a Sign Types story board, that features Memphis, Helvetica, Gotham, Clarendon, and DIN. To gain practice and a deeper understanding of the grid and layout, as well as learning about each font, I copied it to the best of my ability.

Some of the fonts aren’t available for free use, so I used what was available to me, as well as using alternate options. I ended up copying Helvetica, Clarendon (superclarendon), and DIN (alternate), as well as exploring Didot as an extra. screen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-07-05-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-07-24-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-07-43-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-07-57-pmscreen-shot-2016-10-17-at-4-08-11-pm

Original work by Melissa Hecker for Typography I. Jennifer Cole Phillips, faculty.

For more history on typefaces, idsgn has a few articles called “Know your type.” Check it out! DIN or Cheltenham

Leave a Reply

