Type Study: Mrs. Eaves and Universal Grotesk

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-3-15-07-pm

I studied typography for a bit today, starting off my random search on Ligatures. I learned that people don’t use them as often as they used to, and only certain digital typefaces, few and far between, have them built into their sets. A cool fact: an ampersand is the most commonly used ligature today, originally built from combining “e” and “t.”

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-3-17-35-pm
Source: typekit.com

From there, I read the history of Mrs. Eaves.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-3-19-26-pm
Source: ilovetypography.com

And then finally found my way to Universal Grotesk. I love it’s geometric semblance and it’s quirky descenders (although sadly I couldn’t find a digital version with the dropped “f”).

Leave a Reply

